144-hour visa-free transit policy for foreigners during Canton Fair

Details about the 144-hour visa-free transit policy for foreigners were further explained by the Guangzhou Municipal Commerce Bureau and the Guangzhou General Station of Exit and Entry Frontier Inspection on October 11. The policy will make customs clearance more convenient for foreign travelers, especially overseas buyers and exhibitors during the upcoming 134th Canton Fair.

Starting from January 8, Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport has restored the 144-hour visa-free transit policy. Passengers who meet the policy conditions and hold a connecting ticket to a third country (region) with a fixed date and seat within 144 hours can apply for visa-free transit.

Passengers must be citizens of 53 countries and regions in Europe, America, Oceania and Asia, and exit from one of the 32 ports in Guangdong. The lists of the 53 countries and the 32 ports have been attached at the end of the article.

After landing at the Baiyun Airport, passengers need to hold a passport or other international travel documents valid for no less than three months, a connecting ticket, a hotel reservation form, fill out the “Arrival Card For Temporary Entry Foreigners,” and submit it to apply for 144-hour visa-free transit.

(Photo: Official WeChat account of China Southern Airlines)

Currently, Temporary Entry Permit Application service counters have been launched in the arrival areas of the T1 and T2 terminals at Baiyun Airport. After being approved for a temporary entry permit and inspected by China Immigration Inspection, passengers can stay within Guangdong Province for 144 hours without applying for a Chinese visa in advance.

(Photo: Official WeChat account of China Southern Airlines)

In addition, a Canton Fair Channel has been set up at the Baiyun Airport to help with customs clearance for overseas attendees. Exhibitors and buyers around the world can enjoy fast and convenient customs clearance services with their valid passports, international travel documents, Canton Fair-related documents, invitation letters, or pre-registration receipts.

(Photo provided to GDToday)

Which countries are covered by the 144-hour visa-free transit policy?

European Schengen Countries

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.

Other European countries

Russia, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Albania, Monaco, Belarus.

American countries

The United States of America, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile.

Oceanian countries

Australia, New Zealand.

Asian countries

The Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, Qatar.

The list of 32 ports in Guangdong Province


Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, Shenzhen Bao’an International Airport, Meizhou Airport, Zhanjiang Airport, Jieyang Chaoshan Airport (白云机场口岸、深圳机场口岸、梅州机场口岸、湛江机场口岸、揭阳潮汕机场口岸)

Railway ports

Guangzhou Tianhe Railway, Dongguan Railway, Foshan Railway, Zhaoqing Railway (广州天河铁路口岸、东莞铁路口岸、佛山铁路口岸、肇庆铁路口岸)

Highway ports

Shenzhen’s Wenjindu, Shatoujiao, Huanggang, Luohu, Shenzhen Bay, Futian (深圳文锦渡口岸、沙头角口岸、皇岗口岸、罗湖口岸、深圳湾口岸、福田口岸) Zhuhai’s Gongbei, Hengqin (珠海拱北口岸、横琴口岸)

Harbor ports

Guangzhou Port, Nansha Port, Lianhuashan Port, Shekou Wharf, Shenzhen Airport Supporting Wharf, Jiuzhou Port, Wanzai, Wanshan Port, Doumen Port, Jiangmen Port, Heshan Port, Foshan Gaoming Port, Rongqigang Port, Zhongshan Port, Dongguan Humen Port


Contact US

  • Call us: (+86) 186 6503 0152
  • Room 1713 Wuyangxincheng Square, No. 111-115, Siyouxin Road, Yuexiu District, GZ, China